Stages of Chronic Kidney Disease

Chronic kidney disease (CKD) , also called chronic kidney failure, describes the gradual loss of kidney function.

Glomerular Filtration Rate (GFR)

Glomerular filtration rate (GFR) is the best measure of kidney function. The GFR is the number used to figure out the stage of kidney disease.

GFR is calculted by a math formula using the person’s age, race, gender and their serum creatinine. 

Creatinine is a waste product that comes from muscle activity. When kidneys are working well they remove creatinine from the blood. As kidney function slows, blood levels of creatinine rise.

Stages of Chronic Kidney Disease

The stages of CKD (Chronic Kidney Disease) are mainly based on measured or estimated GFR (Glomerular Filtration Rate).

There are five stages of CKD

  • Stage 1 : Kidney damage with normal or high GFR > 90 mL/min, Normal kidney function but urine findings or structural abnormalities or genetic trait point to kidney disease.
  • Stage 2 : Kidney damage with mildly low GFR  60-89 mL/min, Mildly reduced kidney function.
  • Stage 3 : Kidney damage with moderately low GFR 45-59 mL/min, Moderately reduced kidney function.
  • Stage 4 : Kidney damage with severely low GFR 15-29 mL/min, Severely reduced kidney function.
  • Stage 5 : Kidney failure GFR <15 mL/min, Very severe, or endstage kidney failure.

Thanks for reading Stages of Chronic Kidney Disease

« Prev Post